I still remember the day my name was called on the final graduation day of my school. As they called my name, sitting in sukhasana, I stood up from the floor and walked up to the podium. I remember the cheers and vigorous claps of many of my friends and colleagues. The pitch and intensity of the sound still are fresh in my mind. 

I studied in a very little nondescript school till grade 10 in Ahmedabad. Our Maths teacher Mr Shah was very strict. As soon as we all moved to middle school everyone kept waiting for the dreaded day. The day when Mr Shah will ask us tables. He would come randomly on your bench, ask you what is 13x8, you only got 3 seconds to reply after which your ear would go tingling as he would give us a big tight slap on the cheek, boys, girls, no one was spared.  Moving from one child to the next Mr Shah will keep on going about his task, finally giving up when his hand started paining from slapping so many children.

Amongst 75 odd kids in the class, I was amongst the 5 who got spared his fury. Rest all were red-cheeked, some with tears in their eyes. I cannot imagine this happening today without parents going for mutilation of Mr Shah's body parts with their own hands. 

I was the first student ever to score a perfect 100 in maths, a feat many bright students attempted before me and many just got stuck at 98, 99 but no one a perfect 100. So how did I achieve this? 

Math Learning

After years of doing math , hating it and eventually falling in love with it, there are couple of things that I would like to share about maths that no one tells us . Let's start with the top reasons for children to hate math and then we will see if there are ways we can deal with these reasons and fears. 

Reason 1 - Math is dull